baracoa .org - Toda la informacion acerca de Baracoa, primera capital de Cuba y una de las primeras villas españolas en America.


Respetable, Meritoria, Benemérita y Centenaria Logia Honor (Freemasons)
Respetable Logia Coronel Tomas Cardosa Fuentes No.11257 (Great United Order of Oddfellows of the Republic of Cuba)
Respetable Logia Baracoa (Freemasons)
Porto Santo 150 (Knights of Light)

Respetable, Meritoria, Benemérita y Centenaria Logia Honor

This is the oldest of the institutions of brotherhood of the city, for its origins date from the first Republican period (10th March 1902. It as if the champions of Liberty, once the fires had been extinguished after the holocaust of the Fatherland, felt the necessity to seek within themselves a new and much-desired interior peace, which would erase from their fevered retinas the hallucinatory visions of the heroisms, martyrdoms and sacrifices in which they had so recently participated.

The men who gather under the sign of local freemasonry do not do it for the pure and egocentric pleasure of isolating themselves from reality, but to undertake projects which not only improve their individual moral qualities but are diffused outwards for the benefit of society in general.

This lodge bore the name of the Resp: .Logia Obreros de Oriente until 1967.

The workshop has been directed over its first hundred years by the venerable brothers:

  • Vicente Beltrán Gonzáles, 1902
  • Grabiel Jardines Gonzáles, 1959
  • Antonio Condes Borges, 1922
  • Francisco Díaz Hernández, 1960
  • Manuel Sambrano, 1923
  • Ernesto Milhet Cabrejas, 1961/62
  • Inocencio Rodríguez Cremé, 1924/25
  • Mauro Hernández Díaz, 1963
  • Manuel Galano Cautín, 1926
  • Aurelio Pilotó Pérez, 1963/65
  • Ángel Quintero, 1927
  • Oscar Deya Sarabia, 1966/67
  • Miguel Jaume Jaume, 1928/30
  • Rolando J. de Castro Bozan, 1968
  • Manuel galano Cautín, 1931
  • Agilio García Cantillo, 1969
  • Miguel Jaume Jaume, 1932/33
  • Ernesto Milhet Cabrejas, 1970
  • Eliseo Osorio Cordero, 1933
  • Ramón A. Piedra cuza, 1971
  • José M. Purón Secada, 1934/36
  • Rafael Delgado Rodríguez, 1972
  • Antonio Rodríguez Lemus, 1937
  • Hernán A. Hernández Díaz, 1973/75
  • Gelasio Ortiz Columbie, 1938/39
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 1976
  • Enrique Hartmann Conde, 1940
  • Manuel Pérez Argüelles, 1977
  • Francisco Lobaina Brocard, 1940/41
  • Rómulo Toirac Alba, 1978
  • Gelasio Ortiz Columbie, 1942/44
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 1979
  • Alberto Menasse Baruch, 1944
  • Hernán A. Hernández Díaz, 1980
  • Jorge George Rigol, 1945
  • Manuel Pérez Argüelles, 1981
  • Enrique Hartmann Conde, 1946
  • Jorge Bargas Infante, 1982
  • Fermín Purón Secada, 1947/48
  • Agilio García Cantillo, 1983
  • Oscar Deya Sarabia, 1949
  • Eligio Selva Abella, 1984
  • Fermín Purón secada, 1950
  • Manuel Pérez Argüelles, 1985
  • Enrique Hartmann Conde, 1951
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 1986/92
  • Francisco Díaz Hernández, 1952
  • William Montoya Palma, 1993
  • Orlando Lahens Leyva, 1953
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 1994/95
  • Fermín Purón Secada, 1954
  • Manuel Galano Duclo, 1996
  • Eusebio Borges Granada, 1956
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 1997/98
  • Enrique Hartmann Conde, 1957
  • Gustavo Furones Borges, 1999
  • Orlando Lahens Leyva, 1958
  • Ramón A. Piedra Cuza, 2000/01
  • Pedro Eladio Sánchez Rosell, 2002

During the first National History Congress, organised by the Cuban-International Society of Historical Studies of the Office within the City Historian of Havana, and celebrated from 8th – 12th October 1942, the historical truth was reiterated that Freemasonry in Cuba has been the pioneer of culture, liberty and progress in the island, without possible comparison with any other institution. This recognition was drawn up into an agreement, a pronouncement and a proclamation.

IN AS MUCH AS: all the liberators of America found in the Masonic Lodges in which they stayed refuge, protection, warmth and help to support and develop their ideas and progressive and liberal proposals, and as Freemasonry holds amongst its distinguished brothers Washington and Bolívar, Juárez and Martí.

IN AS MUCH AS: the leaders and organisers, apostles, propagandists, heroes and martyrs of the great liberation movements of 1868,1879 and 1895 such as Carlos Manuel de Céspedes, Francisco Vicente Agujera, Ignacio Agramonte y Loinaz, Perucho Figueredo, Salvador Cisneros Betancourt, Calixto García Iñiguez, Máximo Gómez Báez, Antonio Maceo Grajales, José J. Martí Pérez and a great many others did not only belong to Freemasonry but what is more, used Masonic Lodges for the further development of their revolutionary activities and many of them suffered prosecution for the crime of Freemasonry.

IN AS MUCH AS: those below signed have the honour to recognize, in the First National Congress of History, the adoption of the following accords:

FIRST: The First National Congress of History proclaims that Cuban Freemasonry has been at all times since its foundation the institution which has contributed the most to the independence, the liberty, the culture and the progress of Cuba, as much from the ideological point of view as by the example of sacrifice, heroism and perseverance set by its affiliates to give to Cuba a life of human decorum, of equality and social fraternity and a policy of healthy democracy…’

Emilio Roig de Leuchsering
Roger Fernández Callejas
Leonardo Mármol
Enrique Gay Calvo
Genaro Artiles

FaLang translation system by Faboba